The Book Count

When the year 2013 began, I made a set of New Year’s resolutions for fun–things that I would be able to accomplish, but it wouldn’t hurt if I didn’t succeed.  Number 1 on my list was to read more books this year.
calvin-hobbes-new-years-resolutions-572x433
It makes me sad to say this, but over the last few years, I kind of lost touch with the part of me that loved reading.  Life just got so hectic and crazy, I had such little free time.  With the little free time I did have, I always jumped on my computer or turned on the TV to zone out for awhile.
But as the year 2013 approached, I took a step back from my life and realized the parts that had departed from my routine.  In essence, I missed the satisfaction of a good story.

In A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, by Betty Smith, protagonist Francie Nolan claims that once she believed her local library contained all the books in the world.  So as part of her daily routine, Francie reads an entire book a day.  Her life’s goal is to read all the books in the world.

bookcov200-s6-c30My year’s goal was to read at least 20 books.  And for a lot of people I know, that’s easy to accomplish.  But with AP classes, track and field, hospital volunteering, running a school club, and working part-time, I found it fairly difficult to push everything aside for even at least 30 minutes a day to find time to read.

But throughout the year, I have been (in my own terms) fairly successful.  Recently, I have finished my 13th book, which was A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.  Only 7 more books to go before I can officially say I reached my goal!

To be honest, I’m very happy that I’ve taken the opportunity to once again expose myself to all the wonderful stories in the world.  And although my dreams to dive back into reading aren’t nearly as ambitious as Francie’s dreams to devour all the books in the world, I feel as though I can say that I’m giving myself that push I need to reintroduce the gift reading a good story into my life.

Leave a Reply

